Hello Sunshine // 30% OFF // Summer Collection

Perfumer's portrait: Heidrun Harder

Nose Interview : Vol.3

Hello everyone! We were more than happy to have the beautiful Heidrun answer our Soft Interview! An original route and especially an immense talent that made us all crazy about the fragrance Georges et Moi.

IMG_0947kl

Can you introduce yourself to our readers?

My name is Heidrun (I always blamed my parents) Harder (Perfumery second generation). I have a husband and three children (adorable) and lots of years of experience in perfumery (which I do not regret a day). I am an individualist but I love working in a team and especially sharing my expertise.

What was your first contact with the world of perfume?

Perfumery accompanied me since my childhood.

My father worked as a perfumer and odor researcher. I grew up in a small town in Germany where half of the population worked at Dragoco and the other half at Haarmann & Reimer. On my way to school, I walked through the smell of vanillin - sometimes - unfortunately - onions.

I loved drawing on the white paper that my father brought to his work, it smelled like an attracting and mysterious world...

My most vivid memories are accompanied by very specific smells – from an age that I have no thought of becoming a perfumer myself. But ISIPCA’s lessons from 1992 to 1994 in the class Yves Saint Laurent showed me quickly that perfume was a passion - for me and for others.

And the desire of creating and managing olfactory ideas have never left me since.

Can you tell us what were your inspirations to create the fragrance of this Soft Perfume?

I've always been fascinated with chypre notes which are vibrating by contrast balsamic, woody and fresh notes that are never innocuous. Jean-Claude Ellena (note: former Hermes Nose) created a fantastic chypre around vetiver, the magnolia and grapefruit. This combination is very masculine and I wanted to add to this harmony floral and sweet notes such as rose, iris and peony to create a perfume which is expressive and tender. The result is "Georges et Moi," a rare perfume that I wear myself.

SABE MASSOn - SOFTPERFUME - sticks

Soft Perfume Georges et Moi, 22€

Do you have a favorite fragrance or smell?

I always liked the scent of mimosa blooming in abundance in Britain - a passion I share with the entire Franco-German family.

What would be the impossible scent to recreate in a fragrance for you?

The sense of smell, old as it is, is very conservative and is closely linked to the subconscious. Perfumes too "abstract" will not pass.

At ISIPCA, a young German colleague created a composition called "Blood and tears” which was supposed to illustrate war ... it can only remain an interesting attempt ... Nowadays perfume - even with a provocative edge - must bow to the rules of aesthetics. The immanent purpose of a fragrance is to make the consumer more attractive.

IMG_9286

Are there any commodities you are particularly fond of in your work?

Magnolia (from 20 years!), Davana, Basilica, Clary Sage, damascones.

What advice would you give to someone looking for his signature scent and who is loosing himself before the immensity of the proposed options?

Today the choice is abundant and it’s difficult not to be lost. The only advice I could give is: stay true to yourself - do not pay too much attention to what everyone is wearing - go to colors and textures that are appealing to you and stay open to new experiences.

What scent do you appreciate on others but not on yourself?

I like to smell amber fragrances, greedy and white flowers, but I'd feel as if I were disguised if I wore them.

IMG_9089

In your opinion what is the delight of a perfumer and his biggest challenge?

As in the design, perfumers often work on request and for orders. I developed the idea of the perfume "Georges et Moi" for my own pleasure - and there is nothing more beautiful than to share this pleasure with your clients.

The biggest challenge is to motivate yourself to always go further and try new paths.

What motivates you in your job and what is your motto in your private life?

Debuting in the perfume industry, I had the opportunity to work a few weeks in Singapore and a Chinese colleague took me to a temple. The advice that I found there for me was: If you fail, try again!

I often think about it and nothing is more true for perfume! Unfortunately, we move forward by making mistakes.

 

News

If you wish, let's keep in touch

Livraison offerte pour toute commande en France métropolitaine dès 50€ d'achat !

Portrait de Parfumeur : Heidrun Harder

Interview de Nez : Vol.3

Nous avons été plus que ravis que la belle Heidrun se prête à notre Soft Interview ! Un parcours original et surtout un talent immense qui nous a rendu toutes et tous fous de la fragrance Georges et Moi.

IMG_0947kl

Pouvez-vous vous présenter pour nos lecteurs ?

Je m’appelle Heidrun (ce que je reproche toujours à mes parents) Harder (ce qui est Parfumerie deuxième génération). J’ai un mari et trois enfants (adorables) et pleins d’années d’expérience en parfumerie (dont je ne regrette pas un jour). Je suis individualiste mais j’adore travailler en équipe et surtout partager mon savoir-faire.

Quel a été votre premier contact avec le monde du parfum ?

La parfumerie m’a accompagné dès mon plus jeune âge.

Mon père travaillait comme parfumeur et chercheur d’odeurs. J’ai grandi dans une petite ville en Allemagne où la moitié de la population travaillait chez Dragoco et l’autre chez Haarmann & Reimer. Sur mon chemin d’école, je marchais dans les effluves de la vanilline – et parfois – hélas – des oignons.

J’aimais dessiner sur le papier blanc que mon père ramenait de son travail, ça sentait un monde mystérieux et attirant…

Mes souvenirs les plus vifs sont accompagnés d’odeurs très précises – d’un âge où je ne songeais nullement à devenir parfumeur moi-même. Mais les cours à l’ISIPCA de 1992-1994 dans la promo Yves Saint Laurent m’ont montré rapidement que la parfumerie était une passion – pour moi et pour les autres.

Et l’envie de la création et de la maîtrise des idées olfactives ne m’ont jamais quitté depuis.

Pouvez-vous nous expliquer quelles ont été vos inspirations pour créer la fragrance de ce Soft Perfume ?

J’ai toujours été fascinée par les notes chyprées qui vibrent par le contraste des notes balsamiques et boisées et par les notes fraîches qui ne sont jamais anodines. Jean-Claude Ellena (ndlr : le Nez d’Hermès) a crée un chypre fantastique autour du vétiver, de la magnolane et du grapefruit. Cette combinaison est très masculine et j’avais envie d’associer à cet accord des notes florales et douces comme la rose, l’iris et la pivoine pour créer un féminin qui est en même temps expressif et tendre. Le résultat est « Georges et moi », un des rares parfums que je porte moi-même.

SABE MASSOn - SOFTPERFUME - sticks

Soft Perfume Georges et Moi, 22€

Avez-vous un parfum ou une odeur fétiche ?

J’ai toujours aimé le parfum du mimosa qui fleurit en abondance en Bretagne – une passion que je partage avec toute la famille franco-allemande.

Quelle serait l’odeur impossible à retranscrire dans un jus d’après vous ?

Le sens olfactif, vieux comme il est, reste très conservateur et est très lié au subconscient. Des parfums trop « abstraits » ne passeront pas.

A L’Isipca, un jeune collègue allemand a crée une composition «  Sang et pleurs » qui devait illustrer la guerre… ça ne peut que rester une tentative intéressante… A nos jours un parfum - même avec une pointe de provocation - doit s’incliner aux règles de l’esthétique. Le but immanent d’une fragrance est de rendre la consommatrice plus attractive.

IMG_9286

Il y a t’il des matières premières que vous affectionnez particulièrement dans votre travail ?

Magnolan (depuis 20 ans !), Davana, Basilique, Sauge sclarée, damascones.

Quels conseils donneriez-vous à quelqu’un qui cherche sa signature olfactive et qui se perd un peu devant l’immensité du choix proposé ?

De nos jours le choix est abondant est c’est difficile de s’y retrouver. Le seul conseil que je pourrais donner est : restez fidèle à vous-même – ne faites pas trop attention à ce que porte tout le monde – allez vers les couleurs et les textures qui vous attirent et restez ouverts pour des expériences nouvelles.

Quelle odeur appréciez-vous sur les autres et pas sur vous ?

J’aime sentir les parfums ambrés, gourmands et fleurs blanches, mais je me sentirais comme déguisée si je les portais.

IMG_9089

D’après vous quel est le plus grand plaisir d’un parfumeur et la plus grande difficulté ?

Comme dans le design, les parfumeurs travaillent souvent sur demande et pour les commandes. J’ai développé l’idée du parfum « Georges et moi » pour mon propre plaisir – et rien de plus beau que de partager ce plaisir avec vos clientes.

La plus grande difficulté est de se motiver à toujours aller plus loin et tenter des nouveaux chemins.

Qu’est ce qui vous motive dans votre métier et quelle est votre devise dans votre vie privée ?

En débutant dans la parfumerie, j’ai eu la chance de travailler quelques semaines à Singapour et une collègue chinoise m’a amené dans un temple. Le conseil trouvé pour moi là–bas était : If you fail, try again – si vous échouez, recommencez !

J’y pense souvent et rien n’est plus vrai pour la parfumerie ! Malheureusement, on avance en faisant des erreurs.

News

Chemin faisant, si vous le voulez bien, gardons le lien.