Perfumer's portrait : Joëlle Lerioux Patris

Hello!!

Because not only does Sabé Masson exist thanks to you but also thanks to the talented noses with whom we work day by day, we decided to put the highlight on them with a new section: Perfumers’ portraits. Today, the talented Joëlle Lerioux Patris, who created the fragrance of the Soft Perfume De Guerre Lasse, kindly answered our questions.

SABE MASSOn - SOFTPERFUME - sticks

Discover Soft Perfume De Guerre Lasse, a noble fruity chypre

  • Could you present yourself for our readers?

French perfumer, deeply attached to my native Pyrenees but citizen of the world! In love with life, in favour of friendship and family, fulfilled mother and crazy in love with my man! Perfume creator in Paris with the talented team of the Atelier de creation of Fragrance Resources.

  • Have you always wanted to work as a nose?

I have not! Even though I have always loved the world of smells… I wanted to become a dancer in the company of Alvin Ailey in NYC. But I was « reasoned » by my parents, more reassured by a scientific than artistic degree. I studied cosmetology at the ISIPCA to elaborate a « miraculous » anti ageing cream which would have made my mother eternal…. Only a few weeks after having discovered the world of perfume, the desire of creating fragrances flew in my veins and now still remains in me. Now, the pleasure of composing everyday fills me with Happiness! I am very lucky to pursue my passion everyday.

MainJLP

  • What was you first contact with the world of perfume?

My mother’s best friend’s perfumery. Week after week, I had fun memorizing the fragrances I was smelling. Noticing my interest, Nicole, the said friend, offered me samples, testers and point-of-sale promotions. My room was that of a perfume addict well before I got to know the « Nose » industry!

  • Could you explain your inspirations to create the fragrance of the Soft Perfume De Guerre Lasse?

Reunion, falling into each other’s arms, surrendering when skins touch. So I imagined a patchouli for her and for him! And even to be totally honest, for my lover and me! A fragrance, the two of us, with the softness of sunny accents of plum, peach and mandarin, the ambiguous fusing of violet leaves and the carnal elegance of leather and tree moss.

  • Do you have a favourite fragrance or smell and do you wear perfume?

Paloma Picasso, the chypre signature is my favourite perfume! I can easily wear perfume when I am creating. I even systematically wear my creations so as to know them well and adjust them. Nevertheless, so as not to disturb the evolution and the composition work of my colleagues, I do not wear perfume at the Atelier. Even if everyday life is a concerto of smells, a neutral olfactory world is essential to create.

IMG_0520

 

  • According to you, which smell would be impossible to transcribe in a perfume?

I like thinking nothing is impossible! Challenges are motivating and drive my day to day life to be creative. Exploration often leads to beautiful surprises.

  • Are there raw materials you particularly like in your work?

Oh yes! Patchouli, ambroxan, clary sage, Co2 vanilla, Sichuan pepper, animalis base, ambretolide, ambrinol…

  • What advice would you give to someone looking for its olfactory signature and who is a bit lost in front of the wide range of choices?

Smell with your nose and not your eyes! Take time to look for your own olfactory identity without being influenced by the advertisement, the brand’s world, the price or even the muse. Be curious, open-minded, without prejudices and let yourself be surprised! Perfume is above all an alchemy between a smell and us, so wear it: don’t just smell it on smelling strips before choosing! Do not refrain either, thanks to little « pleasure » bottles, from owning several perfumes. You won’t betray yourself by wearing different « very favorite » perfumes according to occasions: I personally like wearing a woody Cologne during my French boxing course whereas I would prefer a chypre for a date or a musky creation to go to sleep…

 

CALABRE 1622

  • What smell do you like on others but not on yourself?

Floral notes…

  • According to you, what is the greatest pleasure for a perfumer and the biggest difficulty?

The greatest pleasure is to manage to please! It is the supreme satisfaction! I feel like a craftswoman who is given the mission of triggering a feeling and providing Happiness in a perfume! The biggest difficulty is actually for each creation to travel the long and formative path towards reaching this shared pleasure and accepting not to always succeed. Doubting, learning to lose and learning by losing is painful but essential.

  • What motivates you in your job and is your motto in your private life?

Effort, team work, to grow together, to learn and to please! I do not believe in solo success. I need to be surrounded, but not invaded, to give the best of me.

« There are many things which only seem impossible as long as you don’t try them. »

André Gide

Thank you very much for these sincere answers! See you soon for new olfactory adventures !

News

If you wish, let's keep in touch

Livraison offerte pour toute commande en France métropolitaine dès 50€ d'achat !

Portrait de Parfumeur Joëlle Lerioux Patris

Bonjour !!

Parce que si Sabé Masson existe aujourd'hui, c'est grâce à vous mais aussi grâce aux talents des Nez avec lesquels nous travaillons jour après jour, nous avons décidé de les mettre à l'honneur avec une nouvelle rubrique : Portrait de Parfumeur. Aujourd'hui c'est la talentueuse Joëlle Lerioux Patris, à l'origine de la fragrance du Soft Perfume De Guerre Lasse qui a aimablement répondu à nos questions.

SABE MASSOn - SOFTPERFUME - sticks

Découvrir le Soft Perfume De Guerre Lasse, un élégant chypre fruité

  • Pouvez-vous vous présenter pour nos lecteurs ?

Parfumeur français, profondément attachée à mes Pyrénées natales mais citoyenne du monde ! Amoureuse de la vie,  Partisane de l’amitié et de la famille, Maman comblée et folle de mon homme ! Créateur de parfums à Paris avec la talentueuse équipe de l’Atelier de création de Fragrance Resources.

  • Avez-vous toujours voulu faire le métier de Nez ?

Non ! Même si le monde des odeurs m’a toujours passionnée… Je souhaitais devenir danseuse dans la compagnie d’Alvin Ailey à NYC puis « raisonnée » par mes parents, eux-mêmes plus rassurés par un diplôme scientifique qu’artistique, j’ai étudié la cosmétologie à l’ISIPCA pour formuler une crème anti-âge «miracle » qui rendrait ma mère éternelle…Quelques semaines seulement après avoir découvert là-bas l’existence du métier de Parfumeur, le désir de créer des fragrances a coulé dans mes veines et ne m’a plus quittée. Aujourd’hui, le plaisir de composer au quotidien me comble de Bonheur ! J’ai beaucoup de chance de vivre ma Passion chaque jour.

MainJLP

  • Quel a été votre premier contact avec le monde du parfum ?

La parfumerie de la meilleure amie de ma mère. Je m’amusais à mémoriser les parfums que je sentais chaque semaine et, notant mon intérêt à cela, Nicole, l’amie en question, m’offrait des miniatures, des testeurs et des PLV. Ma chambre était celle d’une amoureuse du Parfum bien avant que je ne connaisse le métier de « Nez » !

  • Pouvez-vous nous expliquer quelles ont été vos inspirations pour créer la fragrance de ce Soft Perfume De Guerre Lasse ?

Les retrouvailles, se laisser aller dans les bras de l'autre, capituler quand les peaux s'effleurent. J’imaginais alors un patchouli pour elle et lui ! Et même pour être totalement honnête, pour mon amoureux et moi ! Un parfum pour nous deux, avec la douceur des accents ensoleillés de prune, de pêche et de mandarine, le fusant équivoque des feuilles de violette et l’élégance charnelle du cuir et de la mousse d’arbre.

  • Avez-vous un parfum ou une odeur fétiche et portez vous vous-même du parfum ?

Paloma Picasso, le chypre signature est mon parfum fétiche ! Je peux sans difficulté porter un parfum quand je crée. Je porte même systématiquement mes créations pour mieux me les approprier et les ajuster. Néanmoins, pour ne pas gêner l’évaluation et le travail de composition de mes collègues, je ne me parfume pas à l’Atelier. Même si la vie de tous les jours est un concerto d’odeurs, un univers olfactif neutre est indispensable pour bien sentir.

IMG_0520

 

  • Quelle serait l'odeur impossible à retranscrire dans un jus d'après vous ?

J’aime penser que rien n’est impossible ! Les défis sont motivants et moteurs de mon quotidien pour être créative. Explorer mène souvent à de belles surprises.

  • Y a t’il des matières premières que vous affectionnez particulièrement dans votre travail ?

Oh oui ! : Le patchouli, l’ambroxan, la sauge sclarée, la vanille Co2, le poivre du Sichuan, la base animalis, l’ambrettolide, l’ambrinol…

  • Quels conseils donneriez-vous à quelqu’un qui cherche sa signature olfactive et qui se perd un peu devant l’immensité du choix proposé ?

Sentir avec le nez et pas avec les yeux ! Prendre le temps de chercher sa propre identité olfactive sans se laisser influencer par la publicité, l’univers de la marque, le prix ou même l’égérie. Soyons curieux, l’esprit ouvert, sans a priori et laissons-nous surprendre ! Le parfum est avant tout une alchimie entre une odeur et nous, alors sentons au porter et pas seulement sur touche avant de choisir ! Ne pas se priver non plus, grâce aux petits flacons « plaisir », de posséder plusieurs parfums. Ce n’est pas se trahir que de porter différents parfums « coup de cœur » selon les occasions : personnellement, j’aime porter une Cologne boisée pendant mon cours de boxe française alors que je vais préférer un chypre pour un dîner en amoureux ou une création musquée pour le coucher…

CALABRE 1622

  • Quelle odeur appréciez-vous sur les autres et pas sur vous ?

Les notes florales…

  • D’après vous quel est le plus grand plaisir d’un parfumeur et la plus grande difficulté ?

Le plus grand plaisir, c’est de réussir à faire plaisir ! C’est la satisfaction suprême ! Je me sens tel un artisan à qui l’on donne la mission de déclencher une émotion et de générer du Bonheur en parfum ! La plus grande difficulté est justement de parcourir, à chaque création, le chemin long et formateur pour atteindre ce plaisir partagé et d’accepter de ne pas toujours y arriver. Douter, apprendre à perdre et apprendre en perdant est douloureux mais essentiel.

  • Qu’est ce qui vous motive dans votre métier et quelle est votre devise dans votre vie privée ?

L’effort, le travail en équipe, grandir ensemble, apprendre et faire plaisir ! Je ne crois pas à la réussite en solo. J’ai besoin d’être entourée, mais pas envahie, pour donner le meilleur de moi-même.

« Il est bien des choses qui ne paraissent impossibles que tant qu’on ne les a pas tentées. »

André Gide

Un grand merci pour ses réponses très sincères ! A bientôt pour de nouvelles aventures olfactives !

News

Chemin faisant, si vous le voulez bien, gardons le lien.